Thoughts on love


The Christmas spirit.

I have a younger brother two years my junior and an older brother five years my senior. Recently I received a note from my older brother. He signed off the note with “Love ya like a brother.” But to say “like a brother” is really saying you’re not my brother but I love you like one. I understood what he meant but hey, maybe he knows something I don’t, maybe I was adopted. Yikes!

That got me to thinkin’ tho. Is brotherly love different than just plain love? “I love you as a brother.” But could I love you as an aunt, as an uncle? I guess I could if I was your aunt or uncle. Could I love you as my cat? “I love you as my cat.” That wouldn’t be correct. It should be stated, “I love you as much as I love my cat”, which means you could have serious problems with your cat. I love you as much as I love cherry pie, but I don’t love you as a cherry pie.

I think it must be an unwritten rule that brothers or sisters automatically love each other. But if you’re just following a rule, is that really genuine love or love at all? I guess Cane and Able didn’t invent that rule.

And love? I’ve heard it said that love is not a word, love is an action. I would think that the word love defines the selfless positive actions of understanding, giving, sharing, and kindness. Love is not defined as the selfish actions of demanding, taking, restraining or confining. Those seem to be the efforts of an insecure and self centered person who has control issues.

And the opposite of love is not hate but indifference, unattached uncaring, with no emotional ties. Hate is still a strong emotional attachment and emotional bonds can be very powerful whether it’s love or hate. Honey, please put down that gun!

So no matter ones personal beliefs, the spirit of the Christmas season should inspire us to check the list, as Santa Clause does, “Checkin’ his list, checkin’ it twice, checkin’ to see if you’ve been naughty or nice.” And in this case to remind ourselves that what we are, we project, and it will be reflected back. If we’ve been caring, sharing, and giving with our living, then it will come back to us, making the world a better place for all.

Have a fulfilling new year and remember the Beatles lyrics “In the end the love you make is equal to the love you take.”

Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

